free computer chess

Free Computer Chess

Vote and you will reveal!
Funky name, real hobbies
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
hamlet ♡ 12 ( +1 | -1 )
How does this work how does e.p. work? Sometimes I'm able to do it, other times I'm not...Any help in clearing this up would be greatly appreciated.
mlazar ♡ 14 ( +1 | -1 )
Are you making e.p. capture on move right after the opponents pawn advance? You can not wait.. must be done on your next move...
hardcorepawn ♡ 10 ( +1 | -1 )
Also it you only do it when you have a pawn on the 5th rank and you opponent advances his adjacent pawn to the 5th rank.
furryfunbundle ♡ 173 ( +1 | -1 )
Because... It might help to understand EP by considering why the move was introduced. Imagine a black pawn on “d7” and a white pawn on “e5”.... early chess rules only allowed a pawn to move one square at a time but later, this changed to 2 squares on the first move. So, why EP?

In the old rules, the black player moves his pawn to “d6” and of course with black pawn on “d6” and white pawn on “e5” white has the option to capture the pawn by “e5xd6” or simply play another move and elect not to capture.

However, in introducing the new rule to advance a pawn two squares and immediately play “d5” it was recognised that white would be disadvantaged because the option to capture the pawn that existed when “d6” was played has now gone. EP therefore allows white to invoke his rights under the old rules while accommodating the new rules to advance a pawn two squares. Thus when black plays “d5” he is (implicitly) sayings to white if you like, image my pawn has stopped on “d6” – do you want to capture it? While you think about that, I will move the pawn to d5. This is where white can now invoke EP and capture the pawn on “d5” (as if it were on “d6”.

Note in passing, a move sequence of “e5”, “d6”, “some other white move” followed by “d5” produces the same pawn configuration as we have just looked at before but here the rule of EP cannot be invoked since white has already been offered to option to capture the black pawn while it was on “d6” and this option was declined when white played “some other move”. So, EP must be applied at the time the pawn advances the two squares and the opponent had/has the option to enforce the logic that it has only moved one square and I am going to capture it..

Hope this helps. Apologies if I have bored anyone :-0
hamlet ♡ 4 ( +1 | -1 )
thanks fury that helps a lot