I offered a draw somewhere near move 44, but this guy won't quit! He insisted that he could win and forced us to play on. Oh brother... Don't bother to say "on move 57 White/Black could forced the win in 12 moves etc..." because it just doesn't matter anymore. I know there are plenty of mistakes, but this kind of wishful thinking helps me understand human nature in a much more broad way.
♡ 32 ( +1 | -1 ) i agree with himAt what stage do you think even material warrants a draw? Why not ask for draw on move one? At move 44 there was plenty of room for error for people at your respective levels. Maybe your opponent wants to improve his endgame, and there isn't always a lot of opportunity to practise it. I think you are being very unreasonable.
♡ 25 ( +1 | -1 ) What is the problem?Anaxagoras, you have a forced draw in 2 moves...you take his queen, then he takes your rook, then you queen, he takes with his rook...two bare kings=draw. If he can't see that far ahead..so be it. But for you it is only two more moves which is not so bad.
♡ 47 ( +1 | -1 ) Although I haven't deeply analyzed the position after Black's 44th move and my endgame play is not particularly strong to begin with, I feel White does have some genuine winning chances (he has the better rook). Perhaps the position is indeed drawn with best play, but there are plenty of ways for Black to go wrong and rather few losing chances for White, so I'd probably desire to play on in that position as well.
♡ 39 ( +1 | -1 ) Ok, you all are probably right that I went overboard. My apologies. In all honesty, though, I posted because I just couldn't stop laughing at this position. I find little value in a pawn race vs a well matched opponent that will probably end in a draw, unless I *really* *really* hold a grudge against him and have a vaunted and irrational desire to win at all costs.
♡ 42 ( +1 | -1 ) adrianallen..Please look at the game and you will understand. There is no advice given here considering the position in the game that isn't painfully obvious to anyone who has ever seen a chess piece. Still I would say that players would be wise NOT to share ANY specific analysis regarding on-going games...
♡ 18 ( +1 | -1 ) Oh brother! Some of you are *so serious*.
adrianallen, yes, please give me advice on my game in progress. Please advise me on what to do when the only pieces left on the board are the Kings!
♡ 31 ( +1 | -1 ) dozerI did look at the game.
I just don't think it is appropriate to talk about a game that has not ended, regardless of whether it is lost, won or drawn. This should be done after the game is completed.
If you have a drawn game or a won game, your opponent has the right to carry the game on and hope for a blunder.
♡ 78 ( +1 | -1 ) Since you believe yourself so righteous, adrianallen...
"I just don't think it is appropriate to talk about a game that has not ended, regardless of whether it is lost, won or drawn. This should be done after the game is completed."
Why should that be a black and white rule? Why is there necessarily no such thing as an exception to the rule you propose? For example, if my opponent has two Queens and I have nothing save for my naked King, why is it innapropriate to laugh and say "anaxagoras has a snowball's chance in hell"?
"If you have a drawn game or a won game, your opponent has the right to carry the game on and hope for a blunder."
What is the significance of that right? Does someone overstep that right of mine when they say "anaxagoras has a snowballs chance in hell"?
♡ 45 ( +1 | -1 ) ...Comments like "Ohhhhh, you took my Pawn! What's going to happen next?" during the game are bad form. I disagree that you should have to resign the game, as adrianallen suggested, but I hope you might brush up on your chess etiquette. You knew it was going to be a draw, he wanted to see how much further it could go. Why disrespect your opponent like this?
♡ 27 ( +1 | -1 ) chessnoviceYou say "he wanted to see how much futher it could go."
If you really believe that he didn't already know how far it could go, then it is you who shows him disrespect for taking him to be ignorant when he is not. ---------------
This my last comment on this thread: Get a sense of humor, thou sanctimonious puritans! ;-)
♡ 10 ( +1 | -1 ) Probablythe most amusing thing is that the position on the 44th move is a relatively simple win for White.
♡ 88 ( +1 | -1 ) sorry....for giving direct analysis...it is only two incredibly simple forced moves which ends in the simplest possible way, two bare kings. But it was still inappropiate. I have personnaly played against anaxagoras and this guy can analyze far beyond this ELEMENTARY FORCED DRAW, so I was only pointing out what he already knew and the fact that it is not so bad.
But it is true that what I did was technically inappropiate...If Mike takes away my posting privileges as a penalty, I will accept it. But anybody who knows how the pieces move could see the two forced exchanges leading to bare kings, so I think it absolutely wrong for anaxagoras to be penalized, He gained nothing from my post, but I will confess that it was an inappropiate post on a game in progress.
♡ 26 ( +1 | -1 ) atrifixNow that the game is finished, would you care to elaborate? I'm still quite weak in end games and would be interested to know the correct plan for White...
Kind Regards, Dozer
♡ 96 ( +1 | -1 ) It looks like a win... it IS a winLike atrifix said, the position was a simple win after the 44th move.
45. gxh4 gxh4 46. Rb1! and Black can resign immediately.
The White King will penetrate on c5, defending his b-pawn, and the White Rook will penetrate on the 7th rank via f7 or g7; there is no defense against this plan. [If, for instance, Black King succeeds in or is allowed capturing White's h-pawn, White will in return take the a7-pawn; if then Black tries to promote his h-pawn, this will take him four moves; in that time White will make only a and b pawn moves; finally, after both Rooks give their lives for a pawn, White will only be two moves away from a new Queen, while Black's d-pawn is harmless, since White king is still on c5.
It was therefore unethical to propose a draw on the 44th move.
♡ 8 ( +1 | -1 ) pebblesThank you, seems like a winning plan! :-)
Kind Regards, Dozer
♡ 49 ( +1 | -1 ) Wellpebbles's line should in all probability lead to a win for white, but IMHO the simplest is just 44. gxh4 gxh4 45. Kc5, when Black cannot penetrate to h3 with his king and the loss of the e-pawn is not so important, so White wins very easily.
It is not unethical to propose a draw on the 44th move, but it IS unethical to make repeated draw offers, or to make comments to the opponent like "what's going to happen next?"
♡ 65 ( +1 | -1 ) Gentlemanly conduct, is to sit and suffer even if a draw is obvious, been there before!.. your opponent might not realise a draw is 100%, but it is his right to proceed throught the game without indimidation. Who knows, he might even underestimate your endgame technique and is looking for that very small chance, he should be allowed that chance.
Recently I was in a situation in the British Championships, where my opponent actually was getting upset that I wouldnt take a draw... ( the usual distracting stares and sighing!) ...hrmmm a bit annoying indeed... although since I went on to win, it made it even more enjoyable....heheheheh!
♡ 14 ( +1 | -1 ) I'd call my draw offer congnitively inaccurate! But unethical? Now you make me smile that I could have done something so important!
♡ 40 ( +1 | -1 ) what about mine?What do you guys say about this game? A draw?? board #931652&r=980" target="_blank">gameknot.com/chess.pl?board #931652&r=980
*I dont know how to write board number :( just paste in your browser*
♡ 28 ( +1 | -1 ) Please - PleaseDon't ask for any evaluation/advise of ongoing game(s) This is simply very unfair and unsporty like.
If you feel your opponent violate the rules etc. Contact the Webmaster directly.
Best wishes Cairo
♡ 51 ( +1 | -1 ) CairoNo I didnt meant that! It was just that I have placed a lot of effort on that game..I was kinda losing and now I will be atleast happy for a draw . :)-I also offered draw twice; both times declined) My opponent is much more stronger than me! BTW the game mentioned above was funny to me.. A draw by lack of force is rear..Usually you see opponents accepting draws before that.. regards
♡ 98 ( +1 | -1 ) Dear friend,you are putting a smile on my face once again. The wine was a good one today, so my thoughts aren't as serious then they might be seen here. The question has been raised if it had might been an unethical or let me say in a perhaps better way morally weak or even wron decision, i.e. a bad decision in a moral sense, to offer draw in a position you consider to be drawn, but which is, as we see, not drawn. I'm a bit helpless. Just a thought: Is nearly every draw offer of a player rated lower than about 2400 ELO a sin? I'll give the answer in just a few lines. In the meantime let me think about a possible world, where it is at first an ethical decision to offer a draw in a game of chess and second where something as an draw offer could be unethical or bad or even unjustificated. Now the answer to my original question: Yes. Of course. It's just another wired way the original sin takes it's curse (sorry for the missing 'o' english is not my first language).